Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

A bunch of beginner CNC router questions

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Jason Kraft, Jan 15, 2016.

1. Jason Kraft

Builder

I'm working on designing and building my first CNC router. As I am not a mechanical engineer nor have I much experience with building (apart from K'nex and Legos from my childhood), I have virtually no clue what I'm doing. That said, I do know how to use a CAD program, so I've been working over the past two weeks to make what I think will be a working design.

Now that I have completed a first draft of my CAD model, I have a number of questions:
    1. I plan on using 3/16" thick 3003 grade aluminum for my gantry supports since that was a cheap affordable option from my local supplier. I've never worked with 3003 aluminum before. Do you know if it will hold up to the strain of a CNC?
    2. My machine uses 3 Nema 23 stepper motors (2 for the Y-axis and 1 for the X-axis along the gantry). Would this be considered overkill for my system, and could I get away with a Nema 17? The X and Y motors are each turning a 500mm lead screw.
    3. Since I don't have a CNC to help make my gantry supports, I plan on borrowing a drill press to make all the holes and couterbores. Since my X-axis uses a lead screw that must be kept straight and I'm essentially making the supports by hand, how can I keep my tolerances as narrow as possible while drilling?
    4. Furthermore (from question 3), what would be considered acceptable tolerances for such a design?
    5. Lastly, do you have any suggestions on how I could improve my current design?

Here's my progress so far:

TRIMETRIC VIEW
    FRONT VIEW
    RIGHT VIEW
    TOP VIEW
    I know that was a lot of questions thrown at you, so if you'd prefer, I could separate these questions into individual posts (I'm not sure what is considered the proper etiquette on this forum).

2. ChadRat6458

Builder