Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Applying open-source tech to aviation

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Jacob S., Nov 14, 2014.

1. Jacob S.

Jacob S. New
    Builder

Hello everyone! I am a newbie to the community as of today. I figured that I would start with this forum post and see if I could get some guidance and suggestions on selecting and building the appropriate CNC mill (and possibly printer) for an open-source aircraft build that I am wanting to begin.

There is currently an open-source aviation group, called "Maker Plane", which is working to develope a safe, reliable, two-seat, light-sport airplane which can be manufactured with open-source milling and printing technology. Their website can be seen at www.makerplane.org . The majority of the parts on their aircraft are milled from wood and other composite materials to form the fuselage, wings, airfoils, etc. Seeing their progress towards their open-source airplane has fueled my inspiration to pursue a similar project. My idea, however, differs in the fact that I would utilize aircraft aluminum in place of the wood and composite materials. The parts would be milled from aluminum sheets and formed to shape with milled hardwood blocks. For this, I would need a mill that is capable of working these types of materials while holding fairly tight tolerances. This is where I enlist the help of the open-source community. I am a certified machinist in mill and lathe operations as well as G-code programming, however building a CNC mill is a first time project for me. Any help or suggestions in getting started would be greatly appreciated!

The following is a list of the heaviest materials that I would be working with and their dimensions. Maybe someone could give me a suggestion as to which CNC would be the best for my application?

301 SS 1/2 hard .025" thick - 36"x 60"

2024-O alclad aluminum .040" thick - 48"x 96"