Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

CNC for foam

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by WilliamsWorkshop, May 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. WilliamsWorkshop

Builder

I need some guidance. I don't have much experience with CNC machines in particular, outside of designing parts for them (design engineer) but I have plenty of experience building stuff. So I need some help getting started with my new project. Also, not sure if my expectations are realistic (I know they definitely aren't for buying a new CNC), hoping that building it will make this practical for me.

To give you an idea of what I'm going to be using it for. I need to CNC large foam plugs for aircraft (think really large R/C planes or really small UAVs). So, length is more important than width and I don't plan on using it for anything other than foam. Being able to use it for wood is a huge plus but not needed. I would need about 1.5m in length and 1m width min with appox. 300mm z-axis. The larger the better but anything more than 2 x 1.5 m won't be necessary, just a bonus. As for price, like anyone, I like free so the cheaper the better, but I'm willing to put the money in that's needed. I'd rather not spend more than ~$1250, though.

Min Dimensions : 1 X 1.5 X .3 m
    Prefered Dims: 1.5 X 2 X .3 m
    Material : Foam
    Price: >$1250

If it's possible, to get a kit for under that with those criteria, then that's fine. This is more about the end product rather than the build but time and labor isn't a factor for me.

I'll be pairing this with something like the C-Beam.

All help is appreciated! and Thanks!

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

As Grantman noted, a hotwire system may be the best approach as the other issue with your request is the .3 m cutting depth. You can only cut as deep as your longest bit and bits tend to max around 100mm.

3. WilliamsWorkshop

Builder