Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

CNC Software

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Nighthawkhp, Oct 28, 2016.

1. Nighthawkhp

Builder

I have been doing CNC as a hobby for many years using a machine that I built using MDF, roller skate bearings, storefront aluminum, and black gas pipe (machine designed by John Kleinbauer at crankorgan.com). I have been using software that purchased on eBay or other websites, and though they function, I am looking for a solution that is less labor intensive from CAD to the CAM process. The current software requires me to draw the part, save the file as a DXF, open a DXF to GCode converter, and then run the GCode through a simulator to verify that the conversion has been successful.

I currently own BobCad and TurboCAD 21 Platinum and TurboCNC for controlling the actual CNC machine. Can any of you provide recommendations for software that would allow a seamless operation from drawing to machining? I have purchased all new hardware from the Openbuilds Store to build me a new machine similar to the OX, and would like to have a software solution ready when the machine is finished.

I have looked at Mach 3/4, Vectric software, and MeshCAM. I don’t have extra money to buy software only to discover it is too cumbersome or complex. I’m looking for something that will work for doing hobby activities, making signs, puzzles, toys, etc..

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Rod

2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

ugh
    I used to use TurboCAD, a long time ago. I found the 3D to be very hard to use. Now I do everything in Sketchup.
    Well, I am biased, but have you looked at Sketchup + SketchUcam

Sketchup is easy to use and free, and there are a million plugins to help you do everything you can think of.
    It is accurate to 0.001" which has always been enough for me.