Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

CNC xPro V2 board completely dead! Seems faulty?

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Amon, Jun 24, 2016.

  1. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    UPDATE:
    I received my replacement board today. I plugged everything in and fired it up. Working like a champ! I haven't had a chance to actually 'use' it yet other than jog the axis. But now I can continue with the finishing touches and shred some chips soon!

    Great feeling knowing it was a faulty board and not a user error! BIG thanks to Openbuilds part store who without hesitation sent a new board and I received it very quickly!

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hey.
    So I had just finished wiring up my new xPro v2 board today. I was powering it from a current limited lab powersupply for the first couple of tests just to be on the safe side. I connected the v2 to my pc and changed a couple settings (steps/mm.etc) then fired up the power supply. I jogged the Z axis, worked as it should. Then move on to the X axis (there is where the trouble began!) After that the board become unresponsive ever since. When any power is supplied to the board it now immediately (without any commands being sent) applies power to one(or more) of the steppers (can hear the humm/buzz from the motor)


    I was using Universal Gcode sender to control the board. The board doesn't respond to any commands sent through UGS. And after trying just about everything I can think of I lastly tried to reflash GRBL using XLoader which failed to upload.

    My pc does still recognize the board when I plug it in via usb. But in all other ways it's now a paper weight.

    I do have some years experience building 3D printers. I have a bit on knowledge on steppers/drivers and how to troubleshoot. I've used up my knowlage on trying to breath life back into the board. So I can only conclude that my V2 board is factory faulty?

    I've sent a message to Spark-Concepts and Openbuilds. Will update post if anything changes.
     
    #1 Amon, Jun 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
  2. Michael

    Michael Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi Amon,

    Sorry to hear you are experiencing difficulties with your xPRO. It sounds like you know what you are doing so we will skip the troubleshooting phase - I sent you an RMA for your unit. Once received one of the techs will look it over and get it repaired/replaced and back to you asap.

    I'm actually really interested in hearing what has happened here. Typically the boards we get back are due to noisy power supplies, OV or OC, shorts, etc. This is the first that I have heard of a board failing in mid-run. To add to that, it sounds like the micro is still working since it is locking the motors on startup...

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  3. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Mike, I've sent you an email. Thanks for your support. As I mentioned in the email Openbuilds (who I purchased the board from) have kindly said they will send a replacement out immediately for me. I'll be returning the board so hopefully you can see what has gone wrong with the board.
     
  4. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    Im having issues with mine as well. All powered up lights are on but won't respond to moving to test. I'm a newby so it might be something I'm overlooking. On UGS it shows coordinates as if the cnc was moving but it sits silent
     
  5. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Blades, When you first plugged your xpro into your pc, did you get a notification that the drivers were installed correctly? I had to download the drivers and manually installed them myself.

    other than that are you sure UGS is connecting to the xpro? UGS can open (or connect) to a port without the board plugged in (You'd be forgiven to assume UGS would notify you of the fact that a board isn't detected)

    When you connect to a port do you get a message show up? I cant remember the exact wording but when I successfully connected my xpro UGS returned a message something like: send $ for help.

    If you want to test the connection send the command $ to display a menu, If you get a list of options/codes back then you should have a working connection to your board.
     
  6. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    When I plugged in I didn't get any message. I did the $ and it had the readout on the screen. It might be a driver issue. Everything looks good but it's just no connection between laptop and machine. I will be into it deeper when I get into my shop tomorrow. Thank you for the reply. Just anxious and exhausted and ready to start making chips
     
    #6 Blades, Jun 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
  7. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm perhaps I wrongly assumed that the board had to have a working connection to display the options. after sending the $ command. Will test mine without a board connected.

    The fact you dont get any message in UGS after theoretically connecting to your xpro makes me think UGS isnt connected to your board.
     
  8. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    Going to double check this tomorrow! I plugged in and didn't get any messages at all as for drivers or connections. Perhaps I am in a port not assigned to the xpro? It's been a long build and I was just exhausted as I was hooking up the pc to do a test jog before coming home. Finished all of the wiring today
     
  9. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just tested sending $ command without my board connected, and I do not get a menu/codes back. So the fact you have a list of options returning should mean you are indeed connected to your xpro board.

    if you have any other ports in the drop down to select from give them a try. Let me know how you get on tomorrow
     
  10. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    Will do Amon! Thank you for helping me.
     
  11. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    You replies are shedding some light on the process. I been flying blind , not knowing what to look for. I am a total beginner and appreciate the help. When I first plugged in I was getting the grbl booting error message until I change the baud rate. I was relieved to be at that point and then tried to Jog the machine. I didn't see any message when I plugged the xpro initially. I will definately report back. Discussing this may help others as well. Thank Amon
     
  12. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    ok
    downloaded the drivers. Plugged board into usb and heard a beep letting me know i was plugged in. Board lit up and $ command showed a display on the ugs. Went to jog the machine and nothing. No sound , No Motor locking and still no movement
     
  13. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    I received my replacement board today. I plugged everything in and fired it up. Working like a champ! I haven't had a chance to actually 'use' it yet other than jog the axis. But now I can continue with the finishing touches and shred some chips soon! Great feeling knowing it was a faulty board and not a user error!
     
  14. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you have homing enabled? Assuming you do the board wont move any axis until it's either homed or unlocked (unlock by sending code $X )

    Are you using limit switches?

    Also what sort of power supply are you using? (switchmode, ATX PSU.etc)
     
  15. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    24 volt ps
    no limit switches
    $X didnt do anything.
    i will check un the homing
     
  16. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well apart from maybe the current pots being adjusted all the way down? I can't really see why it's not working from what you've said. I found the factory middle position on the trip pots to be actually pretty spot on for my steppers. Even if the pots are turned all the way down you should get a humm/buzz/something

    Might well be a faulty board. Mine was so no reason yours can't be
     
    Blades likes this.
  17. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    i did the trimpots to halfway . I really hope to go in today and reflash it. If not i will just send it back to OBS. I bought this wanting to support OB because i was so happy with everything else but then i was reading all of the hurdles people went thru with this item and was really hoping i would be one of the Lucky ones.
     
  18. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    OBS was very keen to help me out with my faulty xpro. I hope you have the same experience as I did. Perhaps the first run of production of the xpro v2 boards have some gremlins? Or maybe there is a revision needed in the future? Or perhaps there is a faulty batch of components? I really do like the design of the xpro and its features. If there is a problem I'm sure spark concepts will figure it out
     
  19. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    upon sending pics to Michael , who was very willing to help , I discovered my helper wired the power supply "com" wire to ground. I immediately switched the one wire and the machine came to life! Thank you guys for helping out ! Machine runs like a CHAMP!
     
  20. Amon

    Amon Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good on you Mike! Such a relief when its something simple. Always worth double checking the wiring!
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  21. Blades

    Blades Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thank you Amon ! I emailed Spark and Michael had me send pics. My helper wired it up and it totally went un-noticed til today! seeing my Ox jog around was like seeing a baby take its first breath! Thank you guys very much! Openbuilds Team Rocks!
     
    Mark Carew likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!