Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

First CNC help and advice please

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Beemsquar, Dec 8, 2016.

1. Beemsquar

Beemsquar New
    Builder

Hello all ,

I am looking to purchase my first CNC machine and am looking for some advice.
    I have no experience of CNC machines, but I have used cutters and plotters for my printing business, I am also used to using Illustrator and have been learning sketchup fairly recently, so am semi-comfortable with design software.

I have been loitering around on this forum and and other sites researching for months, but I feel i need your expert help and advice in choosing the right machine.

I am a carpenter and am used to using routers and jigs, but want to step my production up a notch.

I have a few jobs coming up shortly that will require a CNC machine so I am looking for the best options for my situation.
    I will mostly using the machine to make custom made benches and trail signs out of Oak and other hardwoods, logos of companies, maps and plaque recesses will need to be routed into these boards.

One example I can give you for the size of the materials are the back of the bench is a 1500mm x 500mm x 85mm slab of green Oak, that needs a map routed into the back along with "you are here" markers. I have around 8 of these to make, to start with. I have done this in the past with a handheld router, but it takes too much time.

The maximum material hard wood thickness I would envisage using would be around 150mm thick and around 2000mm long.

I will also need to be able to cut full sheets of 2240mm x 1220mm birch ply on the same machine, possibly also brass and maybe alluminium, with the ability to engrave fine detail.

The main priority is accuracy in the cut, but speed is equally as important.