Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Got some free time to help a noob?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by selkov, Dec 3, 2014.

1. selkov

selkov New
    Builder

I have never tried to build a CNC anything before. Gathering the needed knowledge is hard. There is a wealth of information out there for those that already know most of it but as I have no basis it ALL confuses me.

I have in mind what is a simple project I am sure for any of you but to me its like Mt Everest. I am a hands on learner so without the benefit of one to hold and take apart I am intimidated .

I would like to add a router on a x/y axis to my lathe. I have an overall width [the lathe] of 48" with a need to travel about thirty from left to right. The working depth is about 11". The needed travel there is only 3". The router needs to be able to be mounted at a right angle to the mounting plate.

I have no problem assembling or even designing [by looks not components] this tool. What I need help on is in selecting the proper components and perhaps someone to review my plans for omissions prior to my committing too this project.

The questions that come to mind are:
    Stepper vs servo motors?
    What type of track?
    What type of lead screw?
    what type of controller board - usb? xpro?
    Break out boxes?
    Software options?

I am hoping that some one here will take pity on me and mentor me in this project.

2. Tweakie

Tweakie OpenBuilds Team

Hi Selkov,

Welcome to the forum.

An awful lot depends on the financial budget you have available.

A stepper motor setup is a whole lot cheaper than servo's.
    My choice would be to use the highest quality track (linear rail) I could afford.
    Ballscrews are best but some of the Chinese imports can be dire.
    Perhaps check out PlanetCNC for the controller or the Gecko G540 maybe.
    There is lots of free CAD/CAM software available to get you started.