Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Grbl 1.1 won't flash to arduino

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Travis Hamilton, Dec 15, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Travis Hamilton

Builder

Hey guys I am new to this arduino thing hoping to run a cnc plasma table with it. So I bought an uno and I have been trying to flash grbl to it I followed all the instructions that I found but arduino ide says there is not enough room for grbl I know very. 1.1 is pretty new so is it to big to fit? Or am I doing something wrong??? The grbl file seems to try to upload but then a message about the size followed by an error message. Hope someone can help..... Thanks

2. Travis Hamilton

Builder

Ok I think I got it to flash I changed the ports seemed to work but not sure how to check it??? Ugs will not work on my computer can not find anything to run the programming in the jar file any ideas??? I tryed to update Java and I can't tell if it is updating or not this whole thing is really frustrating if I can get ugs to work I think I am good any help would be great thanks!

3. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

says 'error this is too big' or WARNS that it might be too big? the warning is normal and it will still work.

run UGS using the batch file supplied in the distribution, Java needs some memory parameters set to make it happy, and the batch file does it for you. try running it from a command line instead of just double clicking it. I can remember some issue with this but cannot recall how I fixed it (-:

alternately if you are running Windows you can use GRBL-Panel
    note that no matter what you use as a GUI you MUST download the latest version so that it matches GRBL 1.1 which uses a new communication protocol. older UGS etc will not understand it.

4. Travis Hamilton

Builder