Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

GT3 Timing Belt High

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by dormopoco, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. dormopoco

    dormopoco New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Silze.jpg
    Hi, sorry, I want to know how high the belt. See Image. And if I could use with this and this, like:
    Schermata 2015-04-02 alle 23.24.40.png
    I Tri to motorize My Slider
    [​IMG]
     
  2. GrayUK

    GrayUK Master
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    214
    It is on here somewhere. Do a search for GT3.
    However, if you just do a search, in your browser, for GT3 timing belt Specs, I'm sure you find them.

    Gray
     
  3. dormopoco

    dormopoco New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The GT3 is sold in different heights. I am interested to know the height of the one sold by openbuilds.

    And then I'm Italian I have difficulty with English.

    I kindly ask for your help.
     
  4. GrayUK

    GrayUK Master
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    214
    Contact our Parts Store Directly, I'm sure they will be able to help you.

    Gray
     
  5. dddman

    dddman Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    152
    The width of the belt sold by OpenBuilds is 5mm
     
    Nick W likes this.
  6. GrayUK

    GrayUK Master
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    214
    I thought he meant the height of the peaks and troughs! :banghead:
    Not the width.

    Gray
     
  7. John Meikrantz

    John Meikrantz Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    53
    Here are specs on belts from sdp-si.com. I believe the belts from Openbuilds are GT2 3mm pitch - figure 19h.

    timing_belts.jpg
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  8. Ted Ellison

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to find some GT3 belts with a 2mm pitch and 5 or 6 mm wide (run on a v-slot rail) seems OpenBuilds only sells 3mm pitch which doesn't help the precision. any one know of a source? Gates part numbers seem to indicate closed belts and the maximum length seems short.

    Thanks for any feed back,

    Ted
     
  9. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    407
    Are you sure you're actually looking for GT3 belts? What is referenced in the store as GT3 belts and pulleys are really 3mm pitch GT2 belts and pulleys. Actual GT3 belts are a rarity. If you are really looking for 2mm GT2 belts, those are available in the store as well as a multitude of other places including Robotdigg and Ebay. If you truly are looking for 2mm GT3 belts, sdp-si might be able to help you. (They list them but gave no indication they had them in stock.)
     
  10. Ted Ellison

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rick,

    Thanks for the quick reply. As I look at the belt solution for the linear motion, it seems that there is concern for the belt skipping a tooth now and then. I am really pretty new and trying to drink through a fire hose just to get up to speed. I was researching the belts and came across the GT3 belts which have a deeper tooth, if that makes ant sense, which would then seem to have a better grip in the gears and reduce tooth skipping. Therefore, I thought it would be a better belt to use in my OX than the standard GT2 belt and pulley system. So I started looking for them and - here I am.

    I really don't know if belt slipping is a real problem or something CNC'rs just worry about. I'd like to get my OX purchased and operational, but I am still sorting out the linear motion. I Like belts, but I also want reasonable accuracy. I understand that the 3mm pitch is much less accurate (?) than 2mm.

    Has anyone had any experience with the GT3 belts? Any Need for them? Am I just too afraid to pull the trigger and go for it?

    Thanks, again Rick,

    Ted
     
  11. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    407
    I really don't see true GT3 belts as an option. Belts are scarce and I doubt you will find any sources for the pulleys. As far as 3mm GT2 belts and pulleys (commonly referred to as GT3 on this site), they are still a better choice for the type systems built here. Originally the systems were built with the 2mm GT2 belts and slippage was an ongoing problem. But solving the slippage problem took an obvious toll on resolution. So the real question is how to get the best of both worlds. I suggest looking into the Belt Reduction Mount recently introduced in the shop. In normal usage, a 2mm belt moves 40mm with each revolution of the stepper and a 3mm belt moves 60mm. Using belt reduction each turn of the stepper moves the system only 30mm which gives better resolution than the 2mm belts yet retains the slip resistance of the 3mm belts. The reduction plates in the shop are shown for use with the threaded rod drive systems but it should be fairly simple to mod them for use with belts. An example of the concept is shown here: Ox Speed Reduction | OpenBuilds
     
  12. gotswrv

    gotswrv Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Dang, that reduction is a very good addition to the open parts store!!

    Looks like it would allow a step up too. Was thinking this could make screws fast enough for a small and very accurate 3d printer or laser. Larger machines would have issues with screw whip, but most printers aren't large.
     
  13. Ted Ellison

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rick,

    A perfect solution. I see you call it a "work in progress". Hopefully we can all soon benefit from this idea. Seems, like you said, a fairly simple Swap the stepper with this mount system and be on your way!

    Thanks,

    Ted
     
  14. Ted Ellison

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rick,

    I found the motor mount plate in the store. Did not see the front mount plate, is it there?

    Thanks,

    Ted
     
  15. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    407
    The plates were designed for the C-beam system which doesn't need two plates so there is no other side. To adapt them for belt use you would just need to make a couple modifications. Both plates would need the 8mm hole drilled out to 1/2" for a bearing and the motor side would need the threads drilled out of the 4 corner holes for a 5mm bolt to pass through. Two additional 5mm mounting holes would also need to be drilled in the ox gantry plates for mounting the assembly. All of these would be fairly simple to do and could be done with a hand drill. I recommend using a stepped bit for enlarging the 8mm holes as they cut through aluminum like it is butter.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!