Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

How do you interface the stepper contollers?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Blackkrystal73, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. Blackkrystal73

    Blackkrystal73 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello

    I'm new here. I'm looking at maybe building a cnc router to cut foam. How do you interface the controller to a computer? Also do all controllers work with all stepper motors?

    Thanks
     
  2. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    Hi Blackkrystal, welcome to the forum.

    There are basically two different configurations with stepper motors ‘unipolar’ (5 wires) and ‘bipolar’ (4 wires) and the controllers for each are different and non-interchangeable. (Just to add a bit of confusion, there are also stepper motors with more than 5 wires and these can generally be wiring configured to work with either unipolar or bipolar controllers).


    Bipolar stepper motors and controllers are probably the most commonly used with CNC machines and in my opinion the best to use.


    Stepper motor controllers are usually interfaced to the computer with a ‘break-out board’ which can have an LPT parallel port connection or a USB connection or an Ethernet connection etc.

    I use the parallel port with one PC and a USB with another PC but newer controlling software, such as Mach4, has been designed primarily for Ethernet connection (although a parallel port option will be available).


    Hope this goes some way towards answering you questions.

    Tweakie.
     
    chris sluggies and Mark Carew like this.
  3. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    For more detailed technical information on stepper motors in general please see http://www.geckodrive.com/support.html

    (also lots of other information on the Gecko site for those that are interested).

    Tweakie.
     
  4. Blackkrystal73

    Blackkrystal73 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you Tweakie

    That's really a good piece of info. what about breakout boards to driver boards. are they just 2 wire connections? maybe a 4-20ma loop? anything I should know before purchasing some?

    I'm looking on E bay, what I'm finding are NEMA 17 and 23 stepper motors, Breakout boards and driver boards relatively cheap. Is E bay an option worth looking at?

    Thanks for your help
    Blackkrystal
     
    chris sluggies likes this.
  5. Blackkrystal73

    Blackkrystal73 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    What about eBay item number:
    151069964755

    Will this work? or is it a joke?
     
  6. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    No, it's not a joke but there is no backup and the seller is unlikely to help you if you have any problems with connecting or setting it up etc. but it's cheap enough to treat as a 'throw-away' if it goes wrong.

    Personally, I would be happy to use this type of board to drive my CNC machines but others may disagree. It uses the LPT parallel port connection so you should ideally be using it with a PC (with onboard or card type parallel port). If your computer only has USB / Ethernet connection then there are probably better choices of controllers.

    Hope this helps.

    Tweakie.
     
  7. Blackkrystal73

    Blackkrystal73 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great! What about stepper motors? Would a NEMA 17 be big enough for a CNC router 2' x 3'?
    Thanks again.
     
  8. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    I suppose it all depends on the load / force you are planning on putting on the cutter / router bit but I would think that NEMA 23 would be a more suitable size for a wood router.

    Tweakie.
     
    chris sluggies likes this.
  9. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    152
    Do yourself a favor and search TB6560 before you buy this item.
     
  10. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    152
    You've mentioned it before, Tweakie, and you also said that you are involved in it somehow. My question is why are they going with the Ethernet? Why not with the USB? If I have to go with Mach4 I'll need a new breakout board (yes, I know you've said there is an option for parallel). Most breakout boards use USB, right? I think Ethernet is the next Dodo, just like Beta, Vinyl, Cassettes, CDs and DVDs. The reason parallel is out is because most new printers are USB. I haven't seen any printer, so far, that is Ethernet.
     
  11. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    @JustinTime,

    It’s perhaps going a bit off-topic but Mach4 will require an external motion controller (or pp plugin), most of which (SmoothStepper etc.) have now opted for the Ethernet connection as it is giving much superior performance over USB. I think the reason for dropping the parallel port is because new laptops just don’t have the Cannon 25 way pp connector any more.

    My view, at present, is that I have a reliable, stable version of Mach3 that does everything that I want it to do so why would I want to change to Mach4 anyway – OK there are a lot of improvements including the algorithms controlling the motion but I still think I will be staying with Mach3 for the foreseeable future.

    Tweakie.
     
  12. Blackkrystal73

    Blackkrystal73 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Justin

    Is there a problem with the TB6560 card?

    Ok. Lastly, can someone recommend a router and bit. Or at lease specs. My first thought was to use a Rotary tool. But now I'm thinking I might need something heavier
     
  13. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    152
    @Blackkrystal73, did you google it as I suggested?

    @Tweakie, I too will stay with Mach3 and have no intention to change. I was just wondering why they use of Ethernet over USB.
     
  14. Blackkrystal73

    Blackkrystal73 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I did but it didn't really tell me any useful information. Just different cards and youtube videos. Please, whats the problem with the TB6560?
     
  15. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    Basically, just my opinion...

    Many of these type of boards are assembled without proper quality control and never tested before dispatch – most work just fine but there will always be some don’t. They are often dispatched with incorrect setting-up instructions, pirate software and pirate licenses etc. etc.

    If you browse the internet very few have any good words to say about the TB6560 boards but to be objective most have little understanding of how to treat and handle electronics in general.

    One guy, doing a review, said that he destroyed one driver chip just by connecting his oscilloscope to the output – well had he known what he was doing and isolated his probe earth connection the outcome may have been different.

    Another guy only swapped two stepper motors and it damaged the board – again, had he waited for the PSU to discharge before he disconnected a stepper motor the outcome may have been different.

    The stories go on but my view is still that they are cheap enough to be ‘throw-away items’ if they fail.

    Dependant on available finances, you could opt for something like the Gecko G540 which has excellent quality, support and documentation and would serve you well – perhaps it all boils down to ‘you get what you pay for’.

    Tweakie.
     
    Rick 2.0 likes this.
  16. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    152
    chris sluggies likes this.
  17. The Dude

    The Dude Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    98
    I have this card. It's called the Sainsmart tb6560. Mine has 4 axes plus a spindle on relay. Everything works but I had to do a lot of research to configure linuxcnc. Maybe 1 week of late nights reading endless google searches. If you increase the current to the motors it will miss some steps because of noise in the board. There are workarounds that require soldering stuff to your board.

    The older 3-axis boards have even more problems and require changing capacitors, optocouplers, and then all the stuff the 4 axis boards need.

    Anyway, I used twisted noise-cancelling cat3 wires for all my motors and I bought high-end Nema 17's. These are so strong they overpower the routy router so it will be fine for your application. The max current of the TB6560 is 3.5A per motor and my motors are rated at 2.8A. You probably won't be able to run a high end nema 23 from this board but a low end will work. I run my motors at about 25% current(0.875A) and the x-axis has 2 motors so I run it at 50%(1.7A). The z-axis has to be at 50%(1.75A) or else it squeals.

    So if you want 4 axes at 3.5A then you need 14A just for the motors. So maybe get a 20A power supply for future upgrades to nema23.

    I kinda wish I had gotten something with less problems but hey that's what's available for that price. I really like the upcoming smoothieboard but I haven't quite figured out how to make it run more powerful motors or how to interface it to linuxcnc. Maybe when I get those resolved I'll make one myself :).
     
  18. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    152
    Dude, why is interfacing with linuxcnc a problem? I thought that Mach3 and linuxcnc are compatible, that is if Mach works on a machine linux works too. I could be way wrong, of course.
     
  19. The Dude

    The Dude Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    98
    The documentation provided with the tb6560 is for a different pin configuration than the one that comes with the documentation. Imagine trying to figure out where 20 pins go while sorting the 4 motor wires and 8 pin dip switches.

    As far as the smoothieboard goes, linuxCNC has a parallel port interface but the smoothieboard doesn't. There's no real-time USB driver and the ethernet one is out but nobody knows how well it works. I'm planning to test the ethernet in the future.
     
    #19 The Dude, Feb 21, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
  20. SlyClockWerkz

    SlyClockWerkz Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hey Black krystal,
    Google hobbycnc ez driver. It's a kit you solder together (very simple, clear direvtions). Everything is all on one board, no breakout board needed.

    However this board can only use unipolar motors. 6, 8 wire, which isn't a big deal.

    From all of my research the are regarded to be much more reliable than the tb6560. I can vouch for it as well. I have a ez driver from them and it works great! They also have a 4 axis version.

    I'll boil it down for you:
    Cheapest to best drivers

    Tb6560, hobbycnc, Gecko Drives And Smooth steppers.

    I don't really regard arduino stepper controllers as a great solution
     
  21. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    922
  22. The Dude

    The Dude Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    98
    Look what I found: http://www.ecomorder.com/techref/ecomprice.asp?p=416074
    I'd like to try to make my own board based off this design. It looks like it would even work with the OX and NEMA23's and maybe cost les than the TB6560 in a DIY rig. Anyone have experience with these? Will it work?
     
  23. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    922
    OpenBuilds have been talking with this fellow and he contacted the team with interest of selling these on OpenBuilds Part Store. Very nice guy and the product specs look great. I have not tried one first hand so I can not comment on the use as of yet. Well see how the dealings pan out, either way they look to be a great driver to give a go. :thumbsup:
     
  24. The Dude

    The Dude Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    98
    Well I was kinda thinking of manufacturing my own PCB with my routy and add it to the builds as a 4-axis controller board. We'll see, still dealing with my POS tb6560 missing steps.
     
    Robert Hummel likes this.
  25. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    922
    Very cool look forward to your results with these drivers
     
  26. Robert Hummel

    Robert Hummel Custom Builder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    670
    Try running the cooling fan of the tb6560 board from an alternative power source and cooling the regulators of the board some how.
    Should help a bit, bin there and done that, had to dissect my board and build my own stand alone boards.
    image.jpg
     
  27. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    152
    I already said in the past that in my opinion it sometimes doesn't make economic sense to make things yourself. I can't make this controller cheaper myself. http://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-Single-...985?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4175f3fae1

    Admittedly I didn't do much research about the 6600 but I did say here in the past not to use the 6560. :)
     
  28. Robert Hummel

    Robert Hummel Custom Builder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    670
    Yes I agree with justintume that the tb6560 has it's problems, I am working with the tb6600 IC right now. I am attempting an all in one 3-4 axis
    GRBL controller with SD for my OX AI.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  29. The Dude

    The Dude Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    98
    I still haven't decided on a chip but I do recognize the enormous price and power savings these ICs give. My first build was an h-bridge with transistors so it took a lot of them and at a premium for money and power. I saw that the TB chips will go up to 3A on digikey but some others were claiming 4A(continuous). I'm curious what kind of current robert is pulling on his motors. What does the 6600 put out? I like the through-hole and one board = one axis design. If we built it like that then it could serve any break-out-board(parallel, ethernet,etc) and any number of axes. I know I'll probably need 5 axes when all is said and done plus a transition from parallel to ethernet. I'd like to be able to drive those heavy duty NEMA23 motors to lug around a 2.5HP router.... one day ;)
     
    #29 The Dude, Mar 14, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014
  30. Robert Hummel

    Robert Hummel Custom Builder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    670
    I am running the tb6560 at 24vdc and 3 amps, anymore and your pushing it.
    I had to also build a dedicated power distribution board in order to power up the IC in the correct spec sheet manor.
    The TB6600 is the fixed/updated IC and can handle 4 amps.
    I have tested the TB6600 with an arduino nano flashed with GRBL and they play nice
    Here is the TB6560 setup I use on my tabletop mill
    image.jpg
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!