Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

I'm new to the world of 3D printers.....

Discussion in '3D printers' started by Sythe1500, Sep 2, 2014.

1. Sythe1500

Sythe1500 New
    Builder

So I'm in high school, and I have really got into using Solid Works and designing some cool things; so I was wondering if you guys would know what a good 3D printer would be for me to learn on. Thanks!

2. dddman

dddman Journeyman
    Builder

Learn to use OpenSCAD first, the world of 3D printing really likes openscad... I have a Prusa iteration 3 and I really like it, and for the price it's a really good one. Start to print with PLA, it's a lot easier, grab some Painter's mate green (or blue) tape and have fun!

3. raykholo

raykholo New
    Builder

I used Sketchup for a number of years and really got into Inventor later on. Never looked back.
    I built a gMax for $700, half its retail cost, and I'm currently working on a Cohesive 3D Printer (one that can print electronics inside of plastic) to put on Kickstarter in a month or two.

As far as cheap printers, you can get a Micro or a Cobblebot, each for $300. The micro is smaller and easier to use while the Cobblebot actually uses OpenBuilds parts and is almost the same build plate size as mine. I learned on a Printrbot but the other two I mentioned are a much better value proposition. Keep in mind that it'll take a while to get either one of them, as they are very new Kickstarter successes.

Seconded that PLA is the way to go!

4. Jimmybuckets

Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

Depends on your budget. How much are you thinking you can put into it?

5. Justin Edwards

Builder