Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Inventor HSM imported image manipulation

Discussion in 'CAD' started by jkalberer41, Dec 16, 2016.

  1. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm trying to import an image into a 2D sketch so I can route it into some wood. Does anyone know how I can make the pieces of the image into workable pieces?
     
  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
    Are you just trying to engrave an image? F-engrave is free and works. You just need a BMP file. I usually will convert an image to a bmp then use the "trace bitmap" function in Inkscape prior to using F-engrave. I "engraved" this image at the full depth of the material to cut out the skull and cross bones used in my Zero tombstone.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I used F-engrave's V-bit function to carve these images my nephew drew.
    [​IMG]

    If it is a grey scale image, you need to up the contrast to get rid of shading so only the lines are left.
     
  3. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you. I'm trying to import a logo to engrave onto a tap handle (my brother's logo for his Christmas gift). From there I will inlay some other material. A friend is able to do this with Vectric Aspire, unfortunately he is swamped with projects. Until yesterday I had not yet been able to get my GRBL machine running correctly, but I believe it is good to go now. Will this F-engrave export gcode?
     
  4. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
    Yes. F-Engrave exports the picture as gcode. You have to size the drawing properly via the image height box. Mine defaults to 127 mm. SO, what that means is if you leave space around your image, your image will be engraved smaller that you anticipated. I crop my images to exactly the size I want engraved. If engraving it on a curved surface, you may want to look into using fusion 360. I have not yet figured this out, but I intend to do so sometime in the near future. If the face on the tap handle is flat, then F-engrave would be a simple solution. Practice on scrap.

    A friend owns a bottle shop in Seattle and is wanting me to custom make taps for him. So I may be working up a solution soon. He is closing for 3 months to completely remodel and convert the business to a tap house.
     
  5. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah it will be on flat wood. My brother also lives in Seattle. He has developed a device that splices into tap lines. There is a small RFID deal that reacts to a phone app and user profiles. Essentially it won't pour until you place your phone next to it. It can track beer consumption from user to user, stuff like that. It is **** cool.
     
  6. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
  7. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm having trouble importing a bmp file to F-engrave. I get the message "No font characters loaded" at the bottom of the screen. Have you experienced this?
     
  8. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I got it figured out. Now I am having problems with my cutter. Damned dremel bits, definitely not made for this. I'm not sure where to get an appropriate v-bit.
     
  9. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
  10. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does that have 1/8" shank? I wish I had more time before Christmas to order. I'm trying to find a Dremel 640 bit, but nobody in town carries one, unfortunately. Maybe I'll get lucky tomorrow and find some other bits with the 1/8" shank. I can't wait to upgrade my spindle.
     
  11. jkalberer41

    jkalberer41 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Menards in town had a sale on compact routers, I picked up the cheapest one and some bits. After getting it installed on my machine I am happy to say that I have successfully cut my first wood. Thank you so much for your help. I wish the Dremel would have worked out, but I was planning on upgrading my spindle anyway. I will upgrade again in the future, but for now this baby will work just fine. The only problem was after it was cut I noticed the project was mirrored on the X-axis. I'll have to check and see what setting I have flipped, but other than that I am very happy.
     
  12. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
    I didn't realize you had been using a Dremel. The bit I referenced was a 1/4 inch shank. Good to hear you got it all going, though.
     

Share This Page