Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

I've started at the beginning, where to next? Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by pomwah, Nov 7, 2015.

1. pomwah

pomwah New
    Builder

Greetings all. I'm new to all things CNC and have started at the beginning by buying a "C-Beam" hardware kit together with "Nema 23s".

I've followed Mark's tutorial and put it together, just waiting on the PSU and controller board.

The problem is: The CNC xPRO V2 Controller is not currently available, what electronics do I use to complete the build and test it out?

Additionally, is there a kit available to convert the "C-Beam" plate maker to use it as a 3D printer? Maybe a pointer to the blog/build of someone who has done this already.

As I say, I'm new to this and don't know enough yet to ask the right questions.

Any and all help appreciated

Cheers,
    James

Edit: Why am I doing this? I've recently retired and needed something to occupy and challenge me. To that end, I'm restoring a 1966 Triumph Spitfire, I intend using the CNC router to build some "bling" for the car. I've recently got into remote control flying and hope to use the router to build bits and pieces for that too.

My background is information systems/information technology but prior to moving into that area I was studying electronics

#1 pomwah, Nov 7, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

gShield and TinyG boards are suitable solutions. The C-beam Plate Maker is not well suited for use as a 3D printer as it lacks any appreciable height in the z-axis.

3. Brian Mahoney

Builder

I'm using a smoothieboard on a cbeam and like it so far. I'm new to CNC but enjoying the challenges.

4. pomwah

pomwah New
    Builder

Thank you gentlemen.