Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Looking for advice for new build

Discussion in 'CNC Lathes' started by Jon Norris, Mar 7, 2016.

1. Jon Norris

Builder

I'm new to the CNC world, and I'm looking for some advice on a new build. I make woodwind instruments for a living, and I'm designing a machine similar to the rotary builds by gwandad and dougsnash, but using the C Beam actuators in the store. It will just have the X and Z axis, plus a rotary for A axis. At this point, I'm planning to use VCarve Pro to design, as it will do everything I need (shaping the spindle, carving recesses for inlay, etc.). Where I could use some input is on Control Software and Controller Boards. I've been reading like crazy on this site and others, and I see tons of potential options -- Mach3/Mach4, LinuxCNC, GCodeSender, TinyG and XPro and Arduino or RPi based systems. I see pros and cons to a lot of them, but I'm looking for some input from some of you experts on which way to go before I start ordering parts. Thanks!

2. Jon Norris

Builder

Here's a quick look at the machine I'm planning (and yes, it's my first attempt at using SketchUp, so it's far from perfect).

Attached Files:

3. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Nice start. :thumbsup: If you'll post your SketchUp file, I can offer a couple simple suggestions that might save you a few dollars.

4. Jon Norris

Builder

Here you go. Anything that will save a few bucks would be a big help. My intention with this is to use the C Beam 1000mm and 250mm bundles for the X and Z, but then extend the framework using 1500mm C Beam (I used 3 pieces of 500 in the model because I couldn't find a 1500 in the sample files) to take advantage of the full range of motion on the X and also account for the size of the rotary headstock and tailstock. Anyway, any design tweaks would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

5. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team