Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

My First Design & Questions

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by GinoTheCop, Feb 4, 2016.

1. GinoTheCop

GinoTheCop Journeyman
    Builder

Hello world!;

I came across this great forum while I was trying to mod a G5 Powermac computer case and found out that hand cut parts are not sleek and accurate enough.

So I have been spending a lot of time reading, inspecting parts and designs and try to create a BOM for my CN build.

I came up with a design that is a mix of c-beam and OX and of course other fellow builders already been there.

I have 3 main concerns for my design (please note that I am a total newbie with openbuilds parts and cnc world)

Please take a look the overall design first; (According to my calculations it will have a 815mm by 720mm cutting area)
    [​IMG]

QUESTION #1;
    Will the below gantry setup work? Please note;
    a- I used 2 Anti-Backlash nut blocks (is this applicable?)
    b- I used another 20*80 horizontally laid at the bottom and the wheels are sandwiched in between (is this applicable?)

[​IMG]

QUESTION #2:

Will below setup be sturdy enough in regards to the stock plates used? Or do I really need stronger setup here? (Please disregard the nut-spacer orientation between the wheels-I didnt have time to correct that yet-)

[​IMG]

QUESTION #3:

Will this motor mount (only 2 points of mounting) be sturdy enough for Nema23s? I have seen this is widely used but still wanted to make sure. (A riser block to the end of C-Beam End Mount would do the trick to have a four point mount) Can I use other stock connections here?

[​IMG]

Thank you so much in advance for those who read this and direct me to the correct setup.

I need to order the long pieces (v-slots, c-beam slots, lead threads) soon as I am running out of time as it is critical for me to have a friend bring them to me.