Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Bill Weissborn, Oct 7, 2015.

1. Bill Weissborn

Builder

First, not sure this is the right place to post this. If not, please let me know.

Second, I'm a total newbie with regards to CNC routers and CNC in general. I am, however, fascinated by the concept and idea. Which is why I've been looking into this for the last few months. I've been watching a LOT of videos on YouTube about X-carve (if that is a 4-letter word on this site, I apologize) and most recently about the OX and Routy. In fact those last builds have pretty much convinced me that I want a CNC setup.

What I have not been able to discover yet, however, are answers to questions I have about the software. It seems that all of the various systems/machines/builds are similar in terms of construction, stability,etc. So it looks like it comes down to the electronics and software used to drive these systems.

Am I on the right track here?

I know there are lots of different software out there, some free, some not-so-free.

What I'm not sure of is what can I use to "drive" the Routy for example? Or the OX?
    What kinds of electronics do I need and how do you decide what to use?
    Do I have to use an old PC with a parallel port (i.e., LPT) or do the controllers now support USB or some other interface?

And lastly, it looks like I could start out with something like the Routy and later cannibalize it to build an OX or something similiar. Do I have that right?

Thanks in advance for letting me shotgun these questions out.

Bill W

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder