Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Ox Z Axis thoughts

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by John Meikrantz, Sep 25, 2015.

1. John Meikrantz

John Meikrantz Well-Known
    Builder

I've been working on my Ox based system - Cebu, for a few months now. Still trying to figure out ways to strengthen the Z axis, which is not as stiff as I'd like.

I think the problem is in the original design, where the acme screw is held to the x plate via the nut block, leaving the V-Slot and router kind of "hanging", and subjecting the z axis wheels/screws to lateral force. It would be better I think to have the V-Slot attached to the x plate.

So, wondering if there is a way to mount either C-Beam linear actuator or the new V-Slot linear actuator to the existing x plate. I think that might help to make a stiffer z axis.

Can someone design an adapter plate to allow mounting the linear actuators to the existing x plate, or come up with a new x plate design that would support a linear actuator?

Hopefully this description makes sense!

-- John

Hytech2k and dddman like this.
  2. Jonny Norris

Jonny Norris Well-Known
    Builder

Should be fairly straightforward with combination of sliding t nuts and corner brackets.

Best bet id say is give it a go. Worst case you would simply need to drill 4 holes to accept the bolts for the sliding t nuts.

If you wanted to try improving the standard ox z. Doing something like this to the supporting wheels would help a lot:

[​IMG]

#2 Jonny Norris, Sep 26, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015
  3. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder