Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Problem with my cnc router

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by rambo800, Dec 3, 2016.

1. rambo800

rambo800 New
    Builder

I made a cnc router 500 x 700mm my control box is a Arduino sheild Grbl software . I have setup up the software for the nema 17 stepper motor the steps to 10mm for x,y,z and my Grbl Controller 3.6.1 which I load the Eagle gcode. All is well when I start the cnc router and the pcb is been routing but the board track are not right and is all out of place.

Attached Files:

2. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

I am no expert, but it may be helpful to have a screen shot of all your GRBL settings posted. You may be off in the microstepping, or in the calculations regarding belt pitch, etc. Also a picture, or drawing, of what the PCB should look like would possibly help others in providing advice. When you tell your CNC to move 10 mm in the positive Y direction, does it move in the right direction the right distance? How about the other directions? It could be possible that the motors need to have wires swapped around if they are not moving the right way. This could be why the cutting is not happening where you want. If you use an overhead gantry like the Ox, the picture below is how the coordinates are usually laid out. This is how I did mine, and i have never had to make changes to the g-code or grbl settings and all cuts have always been done in the proper place. The front left is the x0,y0 position.
    [​IMG]

3. rambo800

rambo800 New
    Builder

I fix the wire to the stepper motor and all 3 stepper motor are going in the right directions and steps are ok but I still have the same problem

Attached Files:

4. Jen

Jen Well-Known
    Builder

Rambo,