Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Questions about C-Beam

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Aeneas, Sep 16, 2016.

1. Aeneas

Aeneas New
    Builder

This is my first post, and I would like to say hello to everybody here. This looks like a neat community, and I'm glad that I found this site.

I am new to CNC and am considering one of the C-Beam kits to get started. My requirements at this time are to be able to make machine parts out of 7075 aluminum alloy, and also to be able to engrave small text and pictograms accurately into 7075. I have some questions about the equipment to be able to do this.

Is the C-Beam mill the right tool for the job?

Is there a difference, other than the size of the substrate utilized, between the C-Beam and C-Beam XL?

According to the C-Beam page, either a 12V or 24V power supply is needed. What factors are considered when deciding between the two?

Also needed is a driver board. What are the considerations when selecting a driver board?

Thanks in advance!

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Define "machine parts". Cutting sheet goods and slightly thicker stock is doable but don't expect to be milling down 4" thick blocks. 1/4" bits are good to cutting down to about an inch and a half deep but even that at times may be pushing it.