Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

RF Laser signal to DC signal

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Sandy DeFalco, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. Sandy DeFalco

    Sandy DeFalco Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anybody know if an RF Laser can be converted to use a DC glass tube? I have a 30 watt Laser Pro Explorer and would like to use a Reci 80 watt glass tube. According to Bell Laser they offer that package for a very expensive price and they told me they have a converter to convert the signal to the Laser. They told me I would still be using the explorers control boards and motors so they are just converting the signal to the Laser. Any information would greatly be appreciated.
    Thank you in advance,
    Sandy DeFalco
     
  2. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    Basically, the RF unit would be replaced by a high voltage, dc, psu matching the intended glass tube’s maximum current rating. All other parts should be re-usable but optical parts that are intended to operate at 30 watts may well expire if subjected to 80 watts of power.


    Tweakie.
     
  3. Sandy DeFalco

    Sandy DeFalco Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    So once we have the power supply changed over as long as we figure out the the signal wires that sends the pulse signal everything should work in theory?
    Thanks for your input.
    Sandy DeFalco
     
  4. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    290
    In theory yes - but I have been around long enough to know that there will always be something unforeseen.

    Tweakie.
     
  5. Sandy DeFalco

    Sandy DeFalco Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks again Tweakie I will keep you posted and let you know the results. I'm hoping to get my parts locally if not it'll be about 3 weeks before I get the stuff.
    If for any reason this doesn't work I will replace my servo motors which steppers and get a new control panel and main board and totally convert this machine and no longer have to maintain a 32-bit operating system.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!