Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Right setting for the job

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by MotGor, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I recently bought an OX CNC KIT and I tried to get it work. My issue with the machine is that when I do a toolpath it doesn't seem that GRBL (2.0) accepts it wright or maybe I doing it wrong. The feed rates and the plunge rates seem to hige when the job starts. I do the toolpaths in the Vetric Aspire software and the setting for the end mill are set quite conservative at feed rate being 10mm/min and plunge rate also at 10mm/min. The toolpath are postprocessed as the GRBL G-CODE or X-CARVE G-CODE the problem is the same.
    In the GRBL there are some settings about XY step, feed rate and Z feed rate, Which setting do control the movement of the machine? Are the GRBL settings only for Jogging the machine? The material is MDF and the end mill is D=6mm. The cut depth is also set to no more than 3mm.
    Can anyone please suggest or has any experience on how to set it wright.
    Thanks.

    MotGor
     
  2. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please can anyone help!
     
  3. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    64
    Need more info, are you using UGS? do a $$ command and post here what you see for your settings that's the first place to start and yes this needs to be set correctly for your machine.
    we need to know your setup. what belt are you using (GT3?) how many teeth your pulleys are(20?), micro step settings on the drivers you are using, are you using the TR8*8 screw for Z?
    All the settings are described in the GRBL wiki page.... I don't think GRBL goes to 2.0?
     
  4. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    330
    10mm/min is TOO SLOW for GRBL, it just cannot reliably pulse that slow
    0.9i - Min feedrate appears to be around 40-45mm/min · Issue #742 · grbl/grbl · GitHub

    that is also way too slow to cut properly in wood, you want more like 1000 to 4000mm/min, the cutter must make chips not dust.
    3 to 5 thou per tooth. Use one of the many online feedrate calculators!
    Materials - ShapeOko

    the settings in GRBL set the homing feed rate, and maximum travel rates, the cutting feedrate is always set by the Gcode.
    (unless you are still running GRBL v0.8, which is many versions too old, upgrade to v1.1 as soon as you can!)
     
  5. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Thanks for the help fom both of you. In the picture you can see the parameters in USG. Sorry the version 2.0 I ment it for USG not GRBL. I will tray something like you sugested.

    I have a GT3 belts I thin that the pulleys have 20 teeth.

    Hope that helps.

    USG_screen_shoot.png

    Regards,

    MotGor
     
  6. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    64
    MotGor,
    Looks like you set GRBL up fine, I can't see the acceleration but everything else should be ok. Make sure your drivers are set for 1/8 step, to match the steps per mm listed.
    The issue is probably what David said about the slow feed-rate.
    Gary
     
  7. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Gary,
    Where can I set the drivers at 1/8 of a step? Thanks for helping!

    MotGor
     
  8. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    64
    Depends on the drives
     
  9. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. But I'm a litle bit new to this. So could you explain it to me?
     
  10. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    It's seem that I can't get it to work right. Now when I try to send the G-code trough USG the CNC start and soon (about 4seconds) stops at an point on the material and it doesn't move anymore. It goes from running to Idle. The settings are the same as in the previous post that I posted the screen shoot but now in this screen shoot it states an Error .... What I'm doing wrong? Is there any option to reset the whole thing (CNC xPro) or is this not a goog idea? I realy not know what to do any moore.
    :(:mad:
    USG_screen_shoot3.png
     
  11. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    64
    what are you using to make you G-code (and the drawing)? try uploading the file here and we can look at it, you might have an incompatible command or something.
    As for the microstep, the cnc xPro has jumper settings for x8 its "1-1-0" see the pic
     
  12. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    to make the G-code I'm using Vetric Aspire. I tried to save it in grbl(G-code) and also X-Carve (G-code) but it's no difference the CNC stil stops after a few lines of G-code and as I said goes from run to idle. The files are attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now while I try to Jog the CNC I get this Error message. Error.png
    What is going on?
     
  14. MotGor

    MotGor New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I once again tried to run the CNC. I sent the G-code trougout the USG and once again the machine stoped in the middle of the jobe (you can see on the USG screen shoot) with the lights lit on the xPro board as you can see on the picture.
    Please can anyone help me to solve this issue. I'm allready desperate. Sorry for my english! Thanks! USG_screen_shoot4.png IMG_1123.JPG
     
  15. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    64
    I ran the Celtic file no problem even engraved some MDF. so it's not the gcode.
    I do not have a CNC xPro, I use Arduino Uno and UGS platform. Sorry maybe somebody with xPro experience can help from here.

    IMG_4081[1].JPG
     
  16. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    330
    What Uno do you have? is it a genuine Arduino or is it a cheap copy ?
    you can tell them apart, the genuine has a Atmel 16u2 chip next to the USB socket, the cheap copies have a CH340 chip there.

    The CH340 is the problem, if you have one. They simply die when you send a lot of data through the USB port.
    The only fix s to get a real UNO with a 16u2 chip. (and even that might need a software update if it is very old)

    I have some of these at home and the USB dies even when I am not using them for GRBL, often just during programming from the Arduino IDE. They really are not worth the money saved.
     
  17. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    64
    David, my genuine Uno ran it no problem, Motgor's xPro has the issue :)
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!