Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

sketchucam ?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by SJD, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. SJD

    SJD Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey all!
    I have a quick ? for u all..have watched tutorials read forums on sketchup before posting.
    When I pull up model and explode and flatten edges of ox plates(v slot ox build 77)
    fill in parameters in sketchucam,do offsets with phlatboys,all are shown but in plotter outside does not cut,slots and holes are shown but no perimeter cut..
    I am only trying to cut 1 plate at a time because size of my benchtop mill.im sure its a noob mistake somewhere any ideas?
     
  2. Frederic Goddeeris

    Frederic Goddeeris Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    19
    Not so confident that I fully understand the problem you describe.
    What I have found is that in some cases parts are not plotted. In one case I discovered that the script did not like the place where I had put the tabs. When I deleted the outer-cut, made the outer cut again without tabs, it worked but after I had placed the tabs, the outer cut was omitted. Finally I placed the tabs at a completely different place and it worked...

    Fred
     
  3. Dave Millard

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sketchucam is brilliantly simple to use but also quite frustrating at times.

    You cannot click and forget, you have to inspect what is to be cut to make sure it is right.
     
  4. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    152
    @SJD, if I understand you correctly your problem is that when you made the outside cut lines a 'face' didn't come up. You can see if there is a face by clicking on the space between your part and the outside cut line. If there is no face the outside cut lines are not recognized.

    BTW, in the future, if you have a problem with a SketchUp file, post it. It makes it easier to solve the problem.
     
  5. SJD

    SJD Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok got sketchucam workin..cutting first side plate...thanks all!!!
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!