Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

TB6600 and xPro on OX

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by andrew Adsit, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    My initial build used the xPro V2 and I love the form factor and virtually everything about the all in one driver. But I did experience many of the trials of setup for getting the current setting right. With all the tweaking and micro stepping set, I still got rough movement when cutting hard material - had to slow the feed rate down which I think contributed to the problem.

    Decided to experiment with a Chinese TB6600 4 axis board and I know all the negative warnings, but I thought it would be worth a try. Got it in, set the current dip switches, and connected to an eBay old Dell computer running XP. Runs super smooth and required no tweaking. The board appears to be well made with good solder joints. For $50, it was worth a look. Will probably buy a spare, just in case.

    My first choice was the Gecko 540, just couldn't justify the price just to see if I needed more current.

    I have my TB6600 set for 3.2 amps on my NEMA 23s that are rated at 2.8. Any experience with the Chinese TB6600 boards?

    UPDATE: see below. Abandoned the TB660 4-axis board as one of the Y channels started acting up. Now using Gecko G540.
     
    #1 andrew Adsit, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2015
    Joe Santarsiero likes this.
  2. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
  3. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    OK, an update. My OX with the TB6600 control board and Mach3 is running awesome. I have added an old XBOX 360 wired USB game control and customized to do jog, rewind my build, zero my z, and a whole bunch more. I have also made a z-zero block and my Mach3 will zero z using it making tool change super simple. I have uploaded the plate to Thingiverse, but working on a thinner version.

    http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:967987

    Quick Youtube video:
     
    Joe Santarsiero likes this.
  4. rcKeith

    rcKeith Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Andrew

    I've been using a TB6560 on my 4 axis hot wire foam cutter for some time now and never had an issue with it. I think the key is to make sure everything runs nice a free so you don't overload the motor. Will be buying an OX soon and plan to use it to control that as well. I built the foam cutter so its connected to controller board by RJ-45 LAN cables going into wall sockects mounted on the machine and controller. That was I can dismantle when not in use, don't have a lot of space. Some pics on my website http://www.rckeith.co.uk/cnc-hot-wire-foam-cutter/
     
  5. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    I am gaining respect for Mach3 as well. I struggled with the controller software (freeware) and it is so much better when you have supported s/w. Tool change much easier, touching off works, and starting in the middle of a program is possible. Happy builder!
     
  6. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    152
    Be careful with this feature. I tried it many times but never could get friendly with it. Many times it ended up cutting across my work and damaging it once or twice even breaking the bit. But that could be just me.
     
  7. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Absolutely. Was careful to raise z to safe height or I think that would have happened. I am amazed that "go to zero" doesn't raise the z first, then x and y.
     
  8. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Another update. After several awesome cuts using the $54 Chinese TB6600 4 axis controller board, I started to get interminent failure on one of the y drivers. Needless to say, the cuts were a complete fail. I tied both ys to the single operating y axis drive and upper the current to the max, and the OX worked fine, but would blow a poly fuse about 12-15 mins into a cut.

    Laid my pride aside and purchased a Gecko G540 and it is working great. No missed steps, no grinding noises. No jagged curves. I highly recommend. Cutting at 170% speed appears to be fine (25mm per second) in soft wood. Happy me.

    Final tool chain: Vectric V-Carve Pro, Mach3, Gecko G540, OX with 4 NEMA 23 steppers on a 750mm x 750mm bed. Xbox controller pendant. Effective cutting area approximately 550mm x 550mm.

    Next phase, get the electronics in a nice Bud Box, rewire steppers with 18-4 shielded cables, rewire end stops with 22-2 shielded wire.
     
  9. andrew Adsit

    andrew Adsit Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    image.jpg image.jpg
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!