Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

Tinyg configuration

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by rfergy78, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my machine setup and have ran a few things on it. I am still having issues with the tinyg controller still with the control of the machine in curve cuts. Straight and angle cuts work fine, curves go so slow that it actually seems to stop in place. I have set the jerk max up and down and nothing seems to clear it up. Any suggestions????
     
  2. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is your gcode file in mm or inches? There is an unresolved bug in cutting inch curves.
     
  3. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is in mm. It seemed to work before but was hard to tell as my spindle was to slow so I couldn't push it. I have since put a faster spindle and was trying to push it a little. I also did a firmware upgrade, so it could be that but not sure.
     
  4. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Maybe you are stalling your stepper motors. Have you adjusted the current for each driver?
     
  5. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you adjust the current on it?
     
  6. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
  7. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok read it and see the trim pots, which way ups the power, and should it be done with board powered on or off? There isn't much info on the page or I just cant find it. And thanks for your help on this :) I have a fan blowing on the board now as well. I just hope I didn't burn it up :(
     
  8. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried both directions. Nothing seems to make it better. I know when I went to the left it got worse. I have a bad feeling that the card is bad but really have no way to know... Any other ideas?
     
  9. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    The drivers are protected and will skip steps when they overheat. Clockwise is higher power (up to 2.8 amps). Do you know the current rating of your stepper motors? If your motors get hot, you might want to turn the pots down.
     
  10. Robert Bailey

    Robert Bailey Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    69
    I have a tinyg on mine, I have the pots turned CW about 2/3's and slowed down the max speed. here is my settings file for reference
     

    Attached Files:

  11. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yours looks a lot like mine only you seem to be running lead screws for all your axis. I haven't gotten that far yet but will. I will slow down the speed on mine and see if that helps, but it is not looking good so far. Motors don't seem to be getting hot so I have a bad feeling it is the board not putting enough power to them. strange part is that straight cuts it works fine. Even straight diagonal cuts. It just doesn't like curves :(
     
  12. Robert Bailey

    Robert Bailey Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    69
    what is you power supply rating. volts and amps..............mine is 24volts and 10 amps
     
  13. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    what cam software are you using? maybe the gcode has a problem.
     
  14. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    My power supply is 24/4.8a. I have been using jscut to create the gcode as I am trying to start simple and cheap :)
     
  15. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm not familiar with jscut. Does it have a tinyg post processor?
    You might want to try another gcode file or another cam. Inventables has easel available for free. It works well for 2 and 2.5d.
     
  16. Robert Bailey

    Robert Bailey Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    69
    think you need a bigger supply, using 4 motors your max is 1.2a max per motor not counting what the tinyg takes and most supply's will start shutting down if over loaded
     
  17. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    That makes sense. I will order a bigger one. Thanks for the info, hope to get this thing operating sm00thly one day :)
     
  18. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have replaced my power supply but still no joy. I am at a total loss.
     
  19. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try running your gcode with your spindle above the workpiece (no contact). See if you have the same problem without load.

    Also, post your configuration. Use the $$ command.
     
  20. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been running it above the table with no load. Strange part is it used to work alittle bit smoother but my spindle was too slow so I bought a bigger/faster spindle. I am pretty sure it is not the gcode because it does the same thing using the chilipeppr logo on chilipeppr web page. It really sounds like the Y axis is the one straining but I am not 100% sure.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Here are a couple of differences in my working configuration. I will get the current configuration from the machine later this morning and post a copy for you.

    I am on firmware 440.20 instead of 440.19.
    I have flow control set to RTS/CTS. $ex=2
    I have my A Axis disabled. $aam=0

    If you post the gcode, i can test it on my machine to see if it works.
     
  22. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was on 440.20, thought it was causing the problem so I downgraded. I will make the other changes and see what happens. I am attaching some gcode on a heavy curve cut. I am worried that maybe I have messed up the board.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    I noticed have your machine configured as 220mm x 220mm. You might want to set x&y travel maximum higher. With soft limit disabled, it shouldn't matter. Might be worth a try.
     
  24. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Also, your gcode isn't cutting any curves, just short segments.

    Try running this simple gcode above your workpiece to see if it works. Note: home position is in the lower left.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well your gcode works great. So it looks like it is the gcode that I am using. What did you use to draw with, and to create your gcode?
     
  26. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your gcode runs on my machine. It is jerky and noisy, though. I can see the machine moving in many small segments at a fairly slow federate.

    Do you have the oval box model that the gcode was made from?

    I made that code segment on inventables easel.
     
  27. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Here is my config for my OX with nema-23s on X&Y and nema 17 on Z.
     

    Attached Files:

  28. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I created it in Inkscape and saved as svg. I can't upload a svg here so I saved it as a pdf.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. Evan F

    Evan F Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    try importing your SVG into Easel, do your setup and export gcode.
     
  30. rfergy78

    rfergy78 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I created some gcode in easle. Definitely runs better that what I create in Jscut. I do still have issues with wht Y axis. I noticed that during a straight run on the Y that the lights on the board seem to be in synch. But when it goes into a curve or even a diagonal move that they seem to alternate between motor 2 and 3. I am hearing the motors on the Y in any movement of the Y, but the X is extremely quiet. So I am sure I still need to make some kind of setting change to make the Y smoother and hopefully quieter. Here is what I created for you to try.
     

    Attached Files:

    • J2.nc
      File size:
      59.5 KB
      Views:
      1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!