Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

What to look for in electronics / software?

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by Balu, Sep 16, 2014.

1. Balu

Balu Well-Known
    Builder

I am an absolute newbie in the NC department, but I started with RC planes at the beginning of this year and I am now thinking about extending on that by building a machine that I can use to cut the foamboards used for building.

The mechanics part don't scare me, but the electronics - well, they don't really scare me, but I'm having troubles figuring out what I'd need for the "common DIY CNC".

So far people seem to be using NEMA 23 for most of the builds and NEMA 17 for the Z-Axis.

Based on that I started to look around and found an eBay seller that sells kits and ships from my home country which would help a lot to not have to mess with customs.

But I don't have a clue what to look for in the parts.

For example one of the kits (sold for ~ $ 375 or 290 EUR) has the following content:
    • 4 pcs Nema 23 stepper motor 425oz,in ,3.0A
      • Step-Angle: 1.8°
      • Motor Length: 115 mm
      • Rate: 6.4 V / 3 A
      • Phase Resistance: 2.1 Ohm
      • Phase Inductance: 9 mH
      • Holding Torque: 425 oz.in
      • Lead Wire: 4 NO
      • Rotor Inertia: 0.89 kg.c?
      • Weight: 1.55 kg
      • Front shaft diameter: 8 mm
    • 4 x Stepper motor driver DM542A, 24-50VDC
    • 2 x Power Supply 350Watts, 36 VDC / 9.7 A
    • parallel cable & breakout board
      • Built in C-class Optical-coupler

Is that something I could / should buy? Or would you suggest to go a different path.

I'm not sure about the parallel breakout board either. I don't own any PC anymore that has a parallel port. Heck I'd be lucky if I'd find something besides USB these days...