Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

CNC OX v C-Beam (Plate Maker).

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Foggy, Jul 28, 2015.

1. Foggy

Foggy New
    Builder

Hi All,

I am a first time builder and would like some advice.
    I am keen to try a build without spending too much to see if I am really going to get into it.

I have tried reading through the various forum post, but have not really found an answer.
    My intention is mostly to work in wood, but it would be nice to know that if I chose to, I could mill Aluminium/Perspex etc..
    Inlaying has caught my imagination at the moment for box lids.

A few questions:
    The decision would be between Ox 500*750 or Plate maker 500*500

Is there a difference between the milling accuracy/repeatability of the two builds? Obviously with inlays this has to be considered.

Am I likely to be able to machine / mill greater amounts in single pass with the Plate maker, or is this really down to the steppers / Router used?

Many thanks for any thoughts.

Best wishes.

James.

2. motopreserve

motopreserve Well-Known
    Builder

Hey james. Just a couple weeks ago I was in the same position as you are - trying to decide between the Ox-based build and the C-Beam plate maker. The major difference (besides size) I found was in the hybrid moving bed of the plate machine vs stationary bed of the Ox. The plate maker will need to move the workpiece - which could become a factor based on the weight of the piece. The Ox only needs the motors/actuators to move spindle.