Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Cutedigi CNC Mill

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by justliketheyusedto, Jan 21, 2017.

  1. justliketheyusedto

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Openbuilds forums,

    I finished building a inexpensive CNC mill I found on cutedigi.com
    This is my first venture in CNC machining so I wanted to keep cost low. I intend to use the machine for milling PCBs.

    I've managed to get everything built and installed on my own using Grbl and all that jazz. However, there are two issues that I'm encountering. First, the X axis moves in the wrong direction when jogging. +X causes it to move to machine right as opposed to user right.

    This might have something to do with the second problem, when I send the machine a gcode file translated from eagle it stalls the motor as it moves along the X axis.
    I'm unsure if there is a way to set limits on the motors, that would be really helpful if there was to prevent stalling.
    The other motors move in their proper orientation. I don't know if they will stall also, as I turn the machine off pretty early in the code because the X axis is one of the first movements. I did my best in zeroing the machine from the C beam video demonstration, considering it is all the same software and the board came preloaded with the proper dimensions of the digicute mill. Should I just zero the X axis on user left?

    One more thing, is there a way to send code quicker I seem to have a really long buffering period before the machine starts up.

    I did also purchase a laser head with the machine but for now I would just like to make it work properly before diving into laser functions.

    Thanks,
    -J
     
  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
    If the steppers are going the wrong direction, you may have reversed a wire pair on the X.
     
  3. justliketheyusedto

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Craig,
    The wires have headers attached and can only be placed in one direction.
     
  4. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    557
    You might check to make sure wires weren't reversed in the harness. If that's not the case, start combing through the software for an improper setting.
     
  5. justliketheyusedto

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The wires look to be in the same orientation as the other two motors. Where would you recommend I look for an improper setting?
     
  6. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    249
    On my cnc, if I attached the wiring to all the drivers the same way (by color ) my x would run the wrong direction. But, I use individually purchased components and I have an overhead gantry system.
     
  7. Darathy

    Darathy Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    The motors do run the same way ... but the motor is on the wrong side of the CNC ,if you can switch two wires which are on the same pole(you can usualy take the wires out of the connector using a small screwdriver on the side of the wire you wana take out)

    Example on my 3D printer proximity sensor:
    IMAG0507.jpg
     
  8. justliketheyusedto

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it Thanks guys. The problem I'm experiencing now is that it wont drill. The machine executes the etch perfectly fine, but when set to drill I receive an error message that says "Input string was not in a correct format." I don't understand how this could be as its the same format as the etching gcode?
     
  9. justliketheyusedto

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    In addition is there a way to set the second special position? So you don't have to measure every time you flip the board? Referring to mirroring the images for the bottom of the PCB.
     

Share This Page