Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Huge 3D printer

Discussion in '3D printers' started by Clint Phillips, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Clint Phillips published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
  2. stargeezer

    stargeezer Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    94
    Modern industry is like that. They throw away millions of dollars of prime hardware while threatening to fire you if you take 3 minutes extra for lunch. And they won't let Anybody salvage anything from the dumpsters most places - there might be a corporate spy who would discover that your place of employment uses 8020inc. extrusions. HELLO - everybody does.

    WHOO!! Rant off (but I do feel better :)

    I'm glad you work for one of the good ones Clint and best of all wishes with your newborn. If you need any help of ham thumbed advice, just give the group a shout. I'll be following this as you build since a larger printer is in my future too.

    Larry
     
    Clint Phillips likes this.
  3. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Larry,
    I'll shout out at my next hurdle.
    Cheers
     
  4. Steven Bloom

    Steven Bloom Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95
    You may want this for your printer. Enjoy !!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    stargeezer likes this.
  5. stargeezer

    stargeezer Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    94
    Thanks Steven! I recently purchased a Rumba Board and making a box like this was on my to-do list. It's a very nice design too.
     
    Steven Bloom likes this.
  6. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    You Sir, are a flatout Legend.
     
    Steven Bloom likes this.
  7. stargeezer

    stargeezer Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    94
    Hey Clint. It's been a while, how's things going? Any new changes or is it just perfect?

    Larry
     
  8. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Larry,
    I have changed the extruder hot and cold end and I've been trying to get it printing right but its being a bit of a challenge.
    At the moment I'm running an E3D Volcano and a Bulldog XL cold end with a 0.6 nozzle.
    I've never run a bowden set-up before so its a bit of a learning curve.
    Its all still a bit of a mess at the moment but its getting there.
     
  9. stargeezer

    stargeezer Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    94
    Glad to hear there's some progress, even if it's a bit slower than you'd like. I'm playing with a bowden setup right now and meeting less than stellar results as well. The feed tube I ordered was less "slippery" than was advertised. So the filament keeps dragging until the stepper cuts up the filament and quits feeding, then the tip plugs and I start over. I'm about to yank it off and switch to a old Wades I've got in the scrapbox. I know it works.

    So what problems are you seeing with yours?
     
  10. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm also having this issue, I thought it may have been due to the retract going too far back and then jamming the tube. This happened at the same spot twice on an Eiffel tower print.
    I'm starting to wonder if Bowden is the way to go or not.
    I'm also still missing steps on my Y axis when I go above a certain speed, it doesn't feel like I'm pushing it real hard either. Its possible I may have to add another stepper to that axis to fix this.
    I'm also waiting for a correct pneumatic fitting so I have bodged a little size converter in which may be causing some issues.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Steven Bloom

    Steven Bloom Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95
    Well I do like that case you are making. haha !!! I don't think its the Bowden. It could be the extruder # in the config.h file. I know you are using volcanos but what is the driver gear for the extruder ??? Thanks Steven
     
  12. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Steven,
    I'm not entirely sure what you mean, I have #define EXTRUDERS 1. The driver is a Bulldog XL, steps per mm set to 495.
    Any advice would be much appreciated!
     
    #12 Clint Phillips, Dec 6, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  13. Steven Bloom

    Steven Bloom Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95

    So on your extruder there is a mk8 or mk7 or even hobbled bolt. What are you using exactly. What u use has to relate to that number 495 u shared with me. Thanks Steven
     
  14. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its a Bulldog XL Bulldog Extruder XL | Robotronics.
    Clint
     
  15. Steven Bloom

    Steven Bloom Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95
    I was just doing some reading. So at 1/32 microstepping the # should be around 212. So if you have it at 1/16 microstepping then it should be 424. Do you know what you are set for ????

    Thanks Steven
     
  16. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
  17. Steven Bloom

    Steven Bloom Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95
    .


    yes, my bad !! 1/16 would be 106. The micro stepping is set on the board. I have a rumba and mine is set on 1/32.

    found it here

    RUMBA board- how to do complete setup, including firmware and wiring? (Page 1) — Hacks & Mods — SoliForum - 3D Printing Community
     
  18. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm guessing your running DRV8825 Drivers as the A4988 cannot step at 1/32. As for the 495 @ 1/16 I'm pretty sure this is correct but I'll extrude 100mm and measure it and confirm. I'm wondering if I'm retracting to fast or something stupid like that??
    The Soap dish looks pretty good!!
     
  19. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    So after checking out this guys experiences, I'm pretty sure I'll end up getting rid of the bowden. I'll spend another day or 2 playing with settings and then ditch it.
    AK Eric
     
  20. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I bought Simplify3D and its AWESOME! here are some prints I've done, one is at .45 layer height and the small one at .2, both with a 0.6mm nozzle. Should I be expecting any better than this?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. stargeezer

    stargeezer Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    94
    OK, I convinced. I need to buy that software.

    What an incredible improvement! Congrats Clint!
     
    Clint Phillips likes this.
  22. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks Larry
     
  23. Tim Curtis

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice build Clint.

    Not sure if you are still having issues with "missed steps" or not but if you are then you could try lowering your acceleration value first instead of lowering your feedrate. It does make a huge difference.
     
  24. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the tip Tim,
    I've wound everything back quite a bit if config.h which seems to have fix the problem for now, until I start winding it back anyway :)
     
  25. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes it was.
     
  26. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Messed up my printer pretty bad last-night. Stuffed up the end G-code script, I wanted the bed to move down from the nozzle by 100mm after a print however the commands drove the glass plate into the Hot end and gantry. bent the 10mm hardened steal rods like the weren't there. Snapped the heat break too and god knows what else.
    The glass bed was so close the smashing it was amazing.
    The sound I woke up to at 3am was horrifying after 6 months of work lol!
     
  27. Steven Bloom

    Steven Bloom Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    95
    YIKES !!!!!!
     
  28. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gutted
     

    Attached Files:

  29. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    So just figuring out where I went wrong, if I press the button to move the z axis 10mm in Octoprint the terminal cammand created is
    G1 Z10.0000 F200 and the z axis goes down.
    If I manually type G1 Z10.0000 F200 in the octoprint terminal the z axis goes up??
    Is this a bug in Octoprint?
     
  30. Clint Phillips

    Clint Phillips Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the info Justin, wont make that mistake again.
     

Share This Page